top of page

DJ MV on the 1's and 2's on Georgia Southern Universities Campus

Statesboro, GA Getting paid roughly around $200 a night, with a free tab at the bar, playing your favorite music sounds like a dream job for any college student.

DJ MV takes the stage at Rum Runners, a favored Georgia Southern bar, ready to get the party started on a so-called “Thirsty Thursday.” He begins moving his fingers along this crazy looking board that lights up, and is bouncing his head to the beat of the music that he can hear through his bright red Dr. Dre headphones, known as “beats.”

The atmosphere of the bar completely changed the minute he started playing. Everything seemed to come alive. The young crowd, primarily consisting of students, began dancing, shots were being ordered, and energy was contagious.

Tabor Forgay, a Fashion Merchandising major at Georgia Southern and the head bartender at Rum Runners, said “I notice that people become more social and enjoy there time at the bars because of the choice of music Peyton plays and the energy he brings to the bar.”

DJ MV may be his name on-stage, but off-stage he goes by Peyton Wilson.

Peyton Wilson is 22 years old, a senior studying graphic design, from Suwanee, Ga. He is an active member of the Pi Kappa Phi fraternity at Georgia Southern.

He plays for the local bars in Statesboro, Fraternity and Sorority parties, along with other events such as weddings and graduation parties in Atlanta.

“As a DJ I typically watch the crowd and observe how the crowd is reacting to my music.” This is how he decides what genres to play. His favorite genres of music to play are hip-hop and country, with a little House/EDM.

“I love to mix up the genres with cool sounds, the crowd goes nuts when they hear their favorite country and hip hop songs being played together,” he explained.

DJ MV considers himself to be self-taught, however without the help from an older fraternity brother, Josh Hartzell, he wouldn’t be where he is today.

Hartzell was a former DJ from another bar at Georgia Southern, Rude Rudy’s. He helped him get gigs on campus, learn to create the perfect transition between songs, and how to use his current DJ board.

Josh Hartzell said, “I’ll never forget watching him DJ at the “Tomorrowland” party our fraternity hosted back in Fall 13’. He was clearly the life of the party. Peyton is a fun, energetic guy and has a lot of potential.”

Q and A with DJ MV:

Where did you get your name?

My name came from an important number that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. This number reflects a time in my life when I became a stronger person mentally and physically.

How did you pick up DJing?

I have always been passionate about music since a young age. I felt a need to take it to the next level and started exploring and developed a true passion for what I do. When I DJ I feel a sense peace.

Where is your favorite place to DJ?

It does not matter the location where I perform. As long as I am doing what I am passionate about, I am happy

Who is your favorite artist in the DJ world?

There are so many to choose from, but I love Steve Aoki and Martin Garrix. Martin Garrix is a true inspiration seeing as he is the highest paid DJ in the world, and Net Worth of $145 million dollars, at the age of 18!

Where do you want to go with your career in the future?

I strive to be something more then a DJ. I want to produce my own music and inspire people to follow their dreams.

“It’s such a great and fun job to have on the side as a college student, I make bank to play music I love” is what Peyton said. “I love to watch the music I play affect the atmosphere of the people I am entertaining, I just want everyone to have fun.”

Tabor Forgay said, “it is extremely important to hire someone with incredible talent and energy for such an important job. Anyone can just play music but Peyton brings entertainment which brings out more people.”

The opportunities for DJ’s today are endless now that it is becoming increasingly popular. DJ’s have to find ways to differentiate themselves in order to stand out or be noticed. The industry is booming, and these artists are making a lot of money.

Josh Hartzell claims, “In my opinion, the only way to be successful as a dj these days is to produce your own music.”

Recently, while working at Rum Runners, Peyton was approached by a man named Topher Gold. Topher is a scout who finds new upcoming DJs to perform at big music festivals, such as Tommorowworld.

Topher gave him his business card, and asked if he would be interested in playing as an opening act. Topher told Peyton that he loved how he collaborated two completely different genres, Country and Hip Hop, and made them sound like they belonged together.

Hopefully, DJ MV will get the amazing opportunity to play at Tomorrowworld, and take the next big step in his music career. Until then he will be playing country and hip-hop mixes at the college bar scene in Statesboro.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page